Vendee2016

VRTool software support forum

Vendee2016

Postby Sansul » Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:27 pm

Hi, will the VRTool work in the 2016 race? im having issues locating the ServiceCaller.php?service=GetUser&id_use with the latest firefox.

thanks in advance
Sansul
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Vendee2016

Postby Sansul » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:59 am

Is anyone using this in this years race? thanks
Sansul
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Vendee2016

Postby vanikoro » Thu Nov 10, 2016 7:32 pm

Hi,

Yes I just started using it yesterday
I haven't yet explored all tha features, I am only usingit for the weather routing
vanikoro
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 7:23 pm

Re: Vendee2016

Postby Spion007 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:58 pm

The interface to VirtualRegatta has changed. The service you mentioned no longer exists. I found that info on the Zezo forum. It seems that Virtual Regatta doesn't want us to use any external tools and they started to encrypt the necessary information. Zezo found a way to interact with the 3D display, but this only helps to interface with Zezo. Friend positions are inaccessible so far... Good luck!
Spion007
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 2:33 pm

Re: Vendee2016

Postby guigui » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:10 pm

Hello,

So we can't get the position automatically.
I do it by hand and use these files and settings. I hope they can be usefull to somebody.

map with exclusion zone :
http://www.filedropper.com/worldinterme ... fzeavg2016

landmass for collision detection :
http://www.filedropper.com/vendee2016zea

Polars (Basic sails, no Pro sails)
http://www.filedropper.com/vpp12
http://www.filedropper.com/vpp11

Winds : the game use 3h time resolution gribs interpolated.
I use 12h; raw grib; interpolated (linear / time ; bilinear in position) interpolation VR checked.

I sometimes get results identical to zezo, sometimes not. But I find VRtool usefull to explore possibilities.

Enjoy !
guigui
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:16 pm

Re: Vendee2016

Postby omar » Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:00 pm

It seems the GetUser method is no longer available for that race.
The boat data is now encrypted, so only the game app can use it.

Best workaround is to enter coordinates by hand. :idea:

As for winds, you can still download from NOAA GFS.
I'm not sure if that's what the race is using.

VRTool has interpolation in time dimension
as well as in position dimensions.
User avatar
omar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:00 am

Re: Vendee2016

Postby guigui » Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:50 pm

Hey Omar, I'm very pleased to see you here and now !
I didn't came here in 4 years. I was the one who proposed to get the starting point of the routing position from the last position of the boat, and you implemented it the next day or so.
Maybe this time you can do it too ?

Zezo has found a way to get the position from the 3D view of the interface. He uses an an extention in chrome to do it. It's not continuously updating because the 3d view position doesn't update but it's very usefull.

It would be very cool if we could get our position in VRtool with the same system.
Or maybe from the zezo page once the position has been updated there.
I don't know if you can get the data from there. Maybe Zezo and yourself can figure it out ?

From what I know, the game uses NOAA GFS data. The 3h ; 1º thing. Interpolated in time and space, but I don't know how. There is a cycle of 10 min update refresch in the game and I saw somewhere here is 2 minutes for real position update.
guigui
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:16 pm

Re: Vendee2016

Postby omar » Sat Nov 19, 2016 5:21 pm

I remember you guigui ;)

I have no idea how zezo did it...
User avatar
omar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:00 am

Re: Vendee2016

Postby guigui » Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:46 pm

You remember me after 4 years ? I'm impressed and flattered :shock: :oops:

I don't know either how he did it. But I know he did it but he did it, nad the position is now available uncrypted:
Once the zezo page is updated, the URL itself includes the position of the boat, decimal style :

http://sail.zezo.org/vendeeglobe/chart. ... id=2206388

Maybe you can point the "get boat position" to this and use it ?

I don't know what I'm talking about here, but the information is here in front of my eyes and certainly somewhere in a cache file or temp file in my computer. You "just" have to get it. I say just because I have no idea how dificult it would be and how much work it is to implement, to but it seems so close...

Anyway, you remembered me, that's all I care :D
guigui
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:16 pm

Re: Vendee2016

Postby omar » Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:55 pm

The only thing you have to inform is the boat position.
There is a button "Add point to selected track". Input lat/lon manually.

Of course without the race AIS data, tracking your opponents
will be a little harder. Sorry.
User avatar
omar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:00 am


Return to VRTool Forum